Cutting Edge

cut

So you cut yourself. You assume that there must be something wrong with you. And, doubtlessly, you expect me to tell you how very wrong you are, that you’re just going through a phase, that you’ll soon grow out of it. I don’t know, maybe you will.I didn’t. I still struggle with cutting myself, so I guess I shouldn’t be telling you what to do, but whatever. If I can’t help myself, I can at least try to help you.

If you’re anything like the other cutters I know, you have either not shared this simply terrible truth with anyone else, or you’ve confided in a trusted friend. Or there’s always that one person who found you out by accident. I hate that. If you haven’t told anyone else, I’d advise you to do so. Whether it be a friend, sibling, teacher, whatever. Your parents, even. It lifts a burden off your shoulders. For some reason, writing about it helps too. It doesn’t make sense, but it helps.

I don’t know if you’re particularly religious (I’m still trying to find that out for myself), but if you are,  pray. Pray pray pray pray. I don’t know what God(s) you’re praying to, but I’ve found that the God of the Bible is the most responsive. To be honest, he’s the only God who’s ever responded. Ever.

For you obviously better educated atheists out there who couldn’t possibly imagine a world created by a God, yet somehow manage to believe that an explosion with unknown origins created civilized humans and animals, the more practical thing to do would be, like I said before, to write about it. Describe how you felt before, during, and after the cutting. I understand that for some, it’s a stress reliever, for others, a thrill, and for yet even more people, a strange sort of enjoyment. I was in the last category. So write about it, no matter what you feel or why you do it. By ‘write’, I’m including typing, but just trust me when I say that actually writing it out has a more therapeutic effect. Keep it well hidden, obviously, and whenever you feel the urge to cut yourself again, read through what you had written before. See if it takes away the urge. If it doesn’t, keep writing and try out Stress Drawing. I’ve never tried it, but I hear it works. Check it out.

I’m not going to give you any of that ‘it’s going to be ok’, ‘there’s hope in the future!’ crap. It might not be ok, and I don’t know if there’s any hope for you. I know it sounds harsh, but would you rather have the logical truth or do you want me to give you a hug and tell you that you’ll get over it?

Let me know in the comments, and if you cut yourself, tell me about it. Tell me your story.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Cutting Edge

  1. Pingback: 16. The Versatile Blogger Award! – xoxo jo

Leave a Reply

