Thinking For Yourself

I’ve asked a lot of questions in my short lifetime (and I apologise to all my elementary school teachers who had to endure my endless ‘why?’ questions), but I’ve found that I’m asking a lot more questions now, as a 17 year old, than I ever have before.

And in asking these questions, which are mostly directed at my peers, the kids my age, I’ve found something that kind of scares me.

Almost none of them have any different ideas from each other. They all share the same shallow, carefree mentality, and refuse to admit any difference in their personality from one another.

Of course, they’ll deny this, saying that they’re independent and whatnot, but I believe that they are simply too afraid to be different for fear of rejection. This sounds kind of familiar to what I was writing earlier…I think it was the “Dark Edge of Non-Conformity” post. That was kind of a weird title, now that I think about it. Anyway, while people claim that they are all individuals, they all follow the same patterns. You can see it all around you. Take a look at the image below.

conformity1

Now I know that this is the same picture at the very top of this post, but I didn’t add any words to it. Separate picture, same background. These words are interesting, aren’t they? This correlates with a quote I found earlier today…I’m not sure who said this, but I’m going to quote them here:

“When people are free to do as they wish, they usually imitate each other.”

In retrospection, these words correlate with the above picture, right? I wish I knew who spoke those very wise words, so I could shake his or her hand. He/she’s probably dead though. It seems like all the smart people died right before our generation was born. Now keep in mind, I’m not saying that I’m completely clean of conformity, I’m just a bit more out of step with the crowd than others.

Back to the picture. It’s a bit sad that so many people would find themselves nodding along if someone were to ask them at the end of their life if they did all these things without fail. The worst part is is that some wouldn’t even see anything wrong with it. While it’s not particularly ‘wrong’ to conform, it certainly would be nice if there were more people who developed their own personalities and stuck with them, not to be swayed by the fickle crowd that so consumes our generation. Wow…I sound like an old man.

Gerontophobia aside, I’d like each of you to try something out of line today, if you don’t already. Doesn’t have to be big, but try and make it big enough that you’ll be able to look back on it with fondness. Or embarrassment, I don’t care.

If you have a Spotify account, try listening to “People are Strange” by Johnny Hollow. It’s an inspiring song to get you out of the normalcy of everyday life.

Cheers.

 

 

10001011110010111101110110011010010110010000101

 

5 thoughts on “Thinking For Yourself

  1. I’ve come to realize the same thing. But if you really think about it, most people are afraid to think beyond what is already familiar because the unfamiliar is uncertain. And that is scary. So I’m sure many will argue that you might as well take the charted path rather than explore ‘what could be.’ Personally, I never understood such people.
    Wonderful piece of work though. Continue writing, people need to hear your words.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. I think you’re right about how “most people are afraid to think beyond what is already familiar because the unfamiliar is uncertain.” I wish I’d stolen that idea, it makes perfect sense.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Riddle: Explained | Edgy Concept

  3. Pingback: The Mystery Blogger Award | Edgy Concept

  4. Pingback: Thinking For Yourself — Edgy Concept – aboutlife

Leave a Reply

